Blood Orange Cosmopolitans for Oscar Night

bloodorangecosmoIn celebration of the Oscars, and the fact that there will almost certainly be yet another snow day tomorrow (so I will actually be able to stay up and watch the entire show), I offer you the combination of two of my favorite things on the planet in the form of a blood orange Cosmo.

First, what’s not to love about blood oranges?  The deep jewel color is absolutely stunning, the slight tartness of the juice is divine, and they simply aren’t available more than a couple of months a year.  I spotted a bag in the market yesterday, and popped them in the cart, sure they would go to good use, but not quite sure how.

Then, Cosmos and I go way back.  I am a gal who loves a good cocktail, and this has been my go-to for years.  I did recently make my best friend Shannon promise that she would never, ever let me have more than one in an evening… which seems like quite a sensible rule that I didn’t follow one recent Friday night (hey… it had been a long week…)

I decided the gorgeous blood orange juice would make a perfect complement to the cranberry, Cointreau and vodka – and I was right.  And isn’t the color of the drink stunning?

(And can I say, I was not-so-discreetly playing mixologist, and shooting my concoction in the kitchen while a group of teenagers were meeting in the other room designing a bridge for a science project… I really hope no one spotted me with vodka out at 4:30 in the afternoon, or House Morell will likely cease to be an acceptable meeting spot for science projects.)  Honest, I just had a sip, and stashed it for later…

So, if you are still looking for a fabulous drink to enjoy while watching the Oscar proceedings tonight… give it a try:

Blood Orange Cosmopolitans

(very loosely based on Ina Garten’s Duke’s Cosmopolitans)

  • 2 ounces freshly squeezed blood orange juice
  • 2 ounces Cointreau
  • 3 ounces vodka
  • 3 ounces cran-raspberry juice

Fill a cocktail shaker half full with ice and pour the ingredients into the shaker. Shake the cocktail for a full 30 seconds  and strain into martini glasses. Serve ice cold.

Makes two servings

